People Before Politics

Let’s talk politics.

Did the hair on your neck just stand up?  Are you ready to read halfway through this article, get ridiculously furious over my argument, and post a writhing comment reminiscent of Confucius and Spell Check?

Any article written from a Liberal bias is guaranteed to have at least one comment about racism, one comment about religion, and one Conservative asking, “What would Jesus do?”.

Any article written from a Conservative bias is guaranteed to have at least one comment about abortion, one comment about guns, and one Liberal acting as a proxy for the thesaurus.

I was reading one of these articles recently, (between Indiana, bakeries, Jesus, and the end of the world, I lost track of which one), and I found myself in a comment war fiercely arguing my point.

This argument lasted six days.

Yes, it is kind of pathetic.  I posted almost 75 comments in defense of my opinion.  I was polite, respectful, and logical.  I cited many websites backing my facts.  I presented airtight, logical arguments.  I pointed out the illogical assumptions they had posted.  I felt like a bit of a stereotypical hermit living life through the internet, but I had to keep going.

I mean, I was so obviously right.

Then, I read an article posted by my polar opposite Facebook friend.  Honestly, the only thing keeping me from blocking him was his absolutely moronic posts.  We’ve had many arguments over pop-political issues.  He drives me absolutely nuts, but I enjoy arguing.

However, the article he posted actually got me thinking.  There’s been a lot of talk about this religious freedom vs. discrimination issue in Indiana.  He posted an article addressing the concept of going the extra mile for those in need.  He was referring to a Bible verse about how if someone asks you to go with them one mile, willingly walk two.

I prepared my fingers for a literary tug-of-words, but then I realized something.

I have spent so much time arguing political points in comment sections.  I don’t even know what the other people look like.  The more we argue, the more set they are on their opinion.  This makes my argument not only pointless, but accomplishing exactly the opposite of what was intended.  Furthermore, even if I convinced every single person I was right, what had I achieved?politics2

Nothing.

Not. One. Thing.

All that time spent arguing what was in the entire world’s best interest, and I hadn’t done a thing to actually help a single person!

That is when I realized a very fatal trend in our culture.  We are so hell-bent on our political/religious/social opinions, that we spend most of our time arguing over who has the best way to help people.

That’s when I had the idea for Dulce Blankets.

There’s a lot of stereotypes about helping others.  We hear popular arguments like, “Government aid creates dependency!”  or, “Churches shouldn’t place religious conditions on charity!”  or, “The Left just wants to tax us to death!” or, “The Right just wants to see all poor people die!”

politics3

Most people think there’s a right and a wrong way to help people.  That if we don’t help them the right way, they won’t use our generosity wisely.  They might use our money for cigarettes.  They might use food stamps for junk.  They might get so used to handouts that they never find a real job.

Honestly, it’s pretty likely that your generosity won’t be used exactly like you thought it should.

For example, I have never given a dime to a homeless person.  I was always told they would just use it for drugs.  So, I thought, drugs are bad.  Homeless people shouldn’t buy drugs, they should buy food!  Since I couldn’t control their decision, I didn’t let them make one.

I put my political beliefs above the person.

How many people suffer because we are too caught up in the “right” way to help those people?

What if, we just put aside politics, and focused on the needs of the actual person standing in front of us?  You know what?  That person might not need food.  They may need shoes.  The guy on the corner might not be one to give money to, because he will spend it on beer.  However, the guy next to him might need $25 to put his family up in a shelter for the night.

Both sides have legitimate ideas and concerns about the best way to help others.  Both sides also suffer from my-way-or-the-highway syndrome.  Let’s stop seeing homelessness as an issue, and start seeing the barefoot guy on the bench as a man in need of shoes.

Dulce Blankets will not work if we keep standing on our political sides of the fence.  I am asking for grocery bags, sheets, t-shirts, and yarn.  Not Conservative yarn or Liberal grocery bags.

Let’s put people before politics.

homeless

If you agree with putting political differences aside so we can start helping people, follow us on Twitter and join the #PeopleBeforePolitics movement!

Like us on Facebook, and learn how you can help donate time and materials to help the homeless!

Leave a Reply

